Memorial Day: Accumer Riege Revisited

This is a 2010 remake of an earlier short documentary I shot when visiting my grandparents back in 2006. Fours years later, nothing seems to have changed much, at first look. In fact, my grandmother had passed away and my grandfather, then living alone, would soon follow her.

I have spent long summers in the house Accumer Riege 59 when I was younger, some days in spring and fall, too, and even a few Christmas eves (although it’s really cold there in the winter). Since living away from home, I’d visit occasionally, about once every two years, later even less. The small village is difficult to reach by train and bus, and usually I would join my uncle in Hanover.

In 2006, I dropped by while living in France. In 2010, I was preparing for my trip to Korea. This summer, I’ll visit my grandparents’ graves and I hope that I can also spend some time at Accumer Riege.

— 6 June 2014 (金)

About Jan Creutzenberg

Jan Creutzenberg, friend of theatre, music, and cinema, comments on his performative experiences in Seoul and elsewhere.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

