Rocking the Campus

풍물  성공회대학교 2013 11 10 16 55 04 While writing about the flow between performers and audience in pansori at SungKongHoe University (성공회대학교), I suddenly heard the sounds of drums. The steady rhythm was quite inspiring. When I felt ready for a short break, I followed the beats towards the campus coffee shop and saw a team of pungmul (풍물, see Nathan Hesselink’s book-length study on this traditional genre) players drumming and dancing. It wasn’t the university’s dongari, as I had expected, but what seemed like a team of high school students. I wish I could have such a nice background every time I sit down to write…

The sound quality is really bad, due to my cell phone, but if you’re interested to hear more pungmul you can find tons of videos at Youtube. Or go see a live performance!

– 10 Nov. 2013 (日)

About Jan Creutzenberg

Jan Creutzenberg, friend of theatre, music, and cinema, comments on his performative experiences in Seoul and elsewhere.
This entry was posted in Performance Report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

