I Am My Own Wife

Yesterday morning I had a special appointment at Doosan Art Center. There, rehearsals are going on for the piece I Am My Own Wife (나는 나의 아내다) by American playwright Dough Wright. The one-person-play deals with the peculiar life of Charlotte von Mahlsdorf (1928–2002), Berlin-born transvestite, gay-rights activist, and collector of 19th century-everyday items.

남명렬 (우), 지현준 (좌)

남명렬 (우), 지현준 (좌)


The play had been translated into Korean, but it features numerous German lines. So I did some pronunciation coaching with the two actors, 남명렬 (right) and 지현준 (left), who are double-cast for the main part. I also recorded the lines for later rehearsals. Director 강량원 joined us, too. We all had a good time in the basement studio, munching Japanese rice candy and checking out phrases like “Hi, ich bin Doug und ich trage schwarze Spitzenunterwäsche.” (“Hi, my name is Doug and I’m wearing black lingerie.”) or “Fräulein, nicht so stolz!” (“Miss, not so proud!”).

I am looking forward to see the play on stage. It will be shown from May 28th until June 29th at the Space 111 of Doosan Art Space (here some details). Anyone interested in a controversial character from recent German history should take a look.

– 9 Apr. 2013 (火)

About Jan Creutzenberg

Jan Creutzenberg, friend of theatre, music, and cinema, comments on his performative experiences in Seoul and elsewhere.
This entry was posted in Upcoming Performance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

