Round About Midnight

A strange case of street theatre

Standing in front of my guesthouse, I light my last cigarette of the day. An elderly man comes around the corner, enters the narrow alleyway and approaches me from the right. Slightly curled hair, wearing a white shirt in the soft night breeze, I take a good look while he comes closer.

on my right

En passant, he shuts the open gate of a neighbouring premises, wearing a conspirative smile on his face, and keeps on walking towards me. I look at him but he avoids my gaze and walks past me, until the end of the alley.

to my left

He grabs and shoulders one of the two rubbish bags that are lying there. A garbageman, that is: a professional? Having turned away, I follow him passing from the corner of my eye, smoking. For a moment I anticipate the blow with the bag. It is raining just a little.

Then he has passes me, departs to the next street where he came from. There he stops for a second, turns his head and looks towards me. Will he come back? The street lamp floods the alley with brownish light. Looking up, I feel single raindrops falling down on me.

me up frontThe man, whether garbageman or homeless scavenger, is gone. I knock the ashes of my butt and return to my room. Tomorrow I will move out—and in, just around the corner.

– 5 May 2010 (水)

About Jan Creutzenberg

Jan Creutzenberg, friend of theatre, music, and cinema, comments on his performative experiences in Seoul and elsewhere.
This entry was posted in City Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

